Product review ยท Food
Mountain Rose Herbs Review: Organic Botanicals and Apothecary
What Mountain Rose Herbs sells, how it sources and tests its organic herbs, teas and oils, what things cost, and what to check before you order.
8of 10checks confirmedPeppermint leaf $7.25, chamomile flowers $16.50, Evening Repose tea $13.00, lavender essential oil $22.50 (default size, Oct 23, 2026)
HealthStylz may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

Our verdict
Mountain Rose Herbs suits home cooks and tea drinkers who want organic loose herbs and teas with the botanical name, origin and precautions listed on every product page. The Eugene, Oregon company has worked in organic herbs since 1987, is certified organic through Oregon Tilth, runs its own quality control lab and offers a 30-day return guarantee. It ships only to the US and Canada and charges shipping at live rates.
Best forHome cooks, tea drinkers and DIY makers who want organic bulk herbs, loose leaf tea and essential oils with clear sourcing details, in sizes from 1 oz up.
Skip it ifYou live outside the US or Canada (it does not ship or bill there), or you want free shipping (rates are charged by weight and distance).



What we liked
- Certified organic processor through Oregon Tilth (USDA National Organic Program)
- Botanical name, origin and precautions on each product page
- Shipments quarantined until the in-house lab releases them; certificate of analysis on request
- 30-day return guarantee for any reason, with listed exclusions
- Many bulk herbs sold in 1 oz bags, so you can try before buying a pound
Trade-offs
- –Ships and bills only in the United States and Canada
- –Shipping is charged at live rates, not free
- –Original shipping is not refunded and there are no free return labels
- –Prices change by size; the listed price is for the default size only
Buyer's checklist
8 of 10 confirmed in our review
The same ten questions for every product. A filled circle means our review confirmed it. "Not stated" or "Partly stated" means the details are missing, so check them on the brand's site before you buy.
- Full ingredient list shownTea blend pages list every ingredient, for example Evening ReposeYes
- Amounts or doses statedBrew amounts on tea pages, for example 1 tablespoon per 8 oz of boiling waterYes
- Third-party lab testing mentionedIn-house lab tests every shipment; some products are also sent to outside labsPartly stated
- Independent studies or sources citedNot stated
- Price statedPrices shown on every product page, by sizeYes
- Money-back or satisfaction guaranteeReturns for any reason within 30 days of delivery, with exclusionsYes
- Can buy without a subscriptionProducts are sold one order at a time by size; no subscription plan shownYes
- Allergen or dietary info givenPrecautions on each page, such as Asteraceae allergy for chamomile and a peanut note for hibiscus; Kosher certifiedYes
- Where it is made or sourcedCountry of origin listed per herb; company based in Eugene, OregonYes
- Shipping and returns explainedLive-rate shipping to the US and Canada; full return policy publishedYes
What Mountain Rose Herbs sells
Mountain Rose Herbs is an organic herb company based in Eugene, Oregon. It sells bulk dried herbs and spices, loose leaf teas and tea blends, essential oils, flower waters, extracts, syrups and DIY ingredients for body care. Many bulk herbs come in 1 oz, 4 oz and 1 lb bags, so you can try a small amount before you buy a pound.
Each product page lists the botanical name, where the herb was grown, the labels it carries (such as Organic or Kosher) and its precautions. Tea pages add the ingredients and brew instructions. That makes it easy to check what you are buying before you add it to the cart.
How it sources and checks its herbs
The company says it has worked in organic herbs since 1987. It is a certified organic processor through Oregon Tilth, which is accredited by the USDA National Organic Program, and its herbs, teas and spices are Kosher certified by EarthKosher. The whole company is certified under the Fair for Life fair trade program.
On sourcing, the company says its first choice is always certified organic. If that is not available, it chooses herbs that are ethically wild-harvested or grown without chemicals, and wild harvesters fill out a Wild Harvest affidavit. It lists more than 14 organic farm partners.
On testing, the company asks for a sample before it orders a shipment, then holds each delivery in quarantine until its Quality Control team releases it. Its FAQ says 10 full-time lab staff test ingredients against its specifications, and its sustainability page says some products are also sent to outside labs. You can ask for a certificate of analysis for a product.
What things cost
Prices depend on the size you pick. On October 23, 2026 the product pages showed, for the size selected by default: peppermint leaf $7.25, chamomile flowers $16.50, Evening Repose tea $13.00 and lavender essential oil $22.50. Shipping is charged at live rates based on weight and distance rather than built into product prices, and the company ships and bills only to the United States and Canada.
Returns
The return policy lets you send products back for any reason, postmarked within 30 days of delivery. There are exclusions: original shipping is not refunded, there are no free return labels, opened essential oils, bitters and extracts in 8 oz and larger sizes cannot be returned, and returns of 10 lb and larger bulk bags carry a 5% restocking fee.
Where to start
If you are new to loose herbs, start with a 1 oz bag of something you already like, such as chamomile or peppermint, plus a simple strainer. Our Herb Guides have a three-tap cup finder, a brew timer that uses each tea's own instructions, and plain guides like how to brew loose leaf tea and homemade elderberry syrup vs store-bought.
Good to know
Herbs are plants with real effects. Read each product's precautions, and talk to your doctor or pharmacist before using herbs if you are pregnant, nursing, taking medicine, or buying for a child. Products marked for external use, like essential oils, are not for drinking. We did not receive free products for this review, and we have not tested these products ourselves; the facts above come from Mountain Rose Herbs' own website.
Where to buy
HealthStylz may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Sources: Our beginnings, Certifications, Sourcing, FAQ, Return policy