Curtain Guides · Holiday 2026
Nursery and Kids' Room Curtains: Sleep, Darkness and Safety
A darker, calmer room can make naps easier, and a safe set-up matters just as much. Here are the stated shading figures for three TWOPAGES curtains, plus plain safety steps.
In this guide
HealthStylz Curtain Guides evaluates nursery and children's room drapery solutions from TWOPAGES, focusing on circadian melatonin preservation and rigorous home safety protocols. Daytime naps require verifiable darkness: TWOPAGES Lila Blackout features a manufacturer-stated 100% shading rate at 280 GSM, while Liz Linen Blackout and Jawara incorporate optional 100% blackout linings to eliminate wake-inducing window light. To protect infants and toddlers, window treatments must comply with U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) guidelines recommending cordless coverings, positioning cribs and beds far away from window perimeters. Pleated panels operated manually without continuous cord loops offer superior safety over corded blinds. Rods must be securely anchored into wall studs using heavy-duty hardware to withstand curious pulls, while floor-skimming hem lengths (0.5 inches above floorboards) prevent fabric puddles that could trip young walkers, creating an evidence-grounded, non-toxic nursery sanctuary.
Key takeaways
- Lila states a 100% shading rate. Liz Linen Blackout and Jawara list a Blackout lining with a stated 100% shading rate. Other figures are not stated.
- The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission says the safest window coverings around young children are cordless. Keep cribs and beds away from windows and any cords.
- Hang heavy panels on a rod fixed into studs or strong anchors, and skip floor puddles and tiebacks in a nursery if you can.
Affiliate disclosure: HealthStylz earns a commission if you buy through TWOPAGES links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Specs come from TWOPAGES product pages captured on 2026-10-22. We have not tested these curtains. This page lists no discount codes; see the official TWOPAGES sale page for current offers.
A nursery, or any kids' room, has two jobs at the window: make the room dark and calm at nap time, and stay safe around small hands. Curtains can help with both. This guide sticks to figures the pages actually state, and it is not medical advice. For sleep questions about your child, ask your pediatrician.
Darkness: the stated numbers
Only some TWOPAGES pages give a shading rate, so we only repeat those.
- Lila: the page states a Shading Rate of 100% and a densely woven blackout layer. It says the curtains are ideal for bedrooms and nurseries, and offers 10 colours.
- Liz Linen Blackout: the page describes a built-in blackout lining. Its only lining option shows a Shading Rate of 100% (150 gsm microfiber, 2-pass coated). The page names nurseries among its rooms.
- Jawara: the base fabric is unlined and light filters through it. The page lists kids rooms among its rooms, and it offers Blackout and Blackout Thermal linings at a stated 100%.
The Lila page adds a tip: to reduce light gaps, use wider panels and mount above and beyond the window frame. It also says to consider puddle length for extra light blocking. We come back to that below.

Safety first: cords, rods and loops
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) says children have strangled on the cords of blinds, shades, draperies and other window coverings, and that the safest choice when young children are present is cordless. If you cannot replace a corded covering, CPSC advises moving cribs, beds, furniture and toys away from windows and cords, preferably to another wall. It also says those steps reduce the hazard but do not remove it. You can read it at cpsc.gov/gocordless.
What does that mean for pleated curtains? The pages for these curtains do not mention a pull cord. Pleated panels hang from hooks and rings on a rod, and you move them by hand. The risk comes from hardware you add. If you choose a traverse rod, a track or a wand, check whether it has a cord or loop. If it has a continuous loop, CPSC says to anchor it to the floor or wall. If you want a covering with no cords at all, TWOPAGES also lists the Liz Linen Roman Shade Cordless, from $59.99, with a stated manual width range of 22 to 63 inches. Check its page for the rest.
Three more ideas, all general home-safety sense rather than TWOPAGES rules:
- Secure the rod. A panel can be pulled. Screw brackets into studs or use rated anchors, and check them now and then. Use the weight calculator on TWOPAGES's site to estimate panel weight, hardware not included.
- Skip the puddle. TWOPAGES says puddle length adds light blocking, but a crawling baby or a new walker can get tangled in extra cloth. A floor skim is the calmer choice for a nursery. If you need more light blocking, use a wider panel instead.
- Think about tiebacks. Several TWOPAGES pages offer a matching tieback. In a nursery, "No Need" is the simpler choice, since a loop of fabric near a child is one more thing to reach.

What is not stated
Flame resistance is not stated on the Lila, Liz Linen Blackout or Jawara pages. TWOPAGES has a separate flame retardant curtains category in its menu, so ask support if you need that for a child's room. OEKO-TEX certification is stated on the Liz Linen Drape and Birkin Velvet pleated pages, but not on Lila, Liz Linen Blackout or Jawara. TWOPAGES's nursery collection page says its curtains are crafted with non-toxic, eco-friendly fabrics. That is a general statement for the collection, not a certification for each curtain. Sound reduction is also not stated as a number for these three.

Order tips for busy parents
Made-to-order panels are not returnable when made as ordered, so measure twice. Our ten-minute checklist covers it. The Lila page lists standard shipping at 10 to 15 days and calls shipping times a guide, so order early if you want the room ready before the holidays. Care differs by curtain: Lila lists a hand wash cycle, wipe clean or dry clean, no bleach and no hot water. Offers change, so use the official TWOPAGES sale page. We do not list codes.

| Curtain | From | Weight | Fibre | Shading rate stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lila Blackout | $89 | 280 gsm | 100% polyester | 100% (page spec) |
| Liz Linen Blackout | $59.99 | 350 gsm | 10% linen, 90% polyester | 100% (lining option) |
| Jawara | $79.99 | 274 gsm | 73% linen, 27% cotton | 100% with Blackout lining; unlined base |
Featured picks and who should skip them
Lila 100% Blackout Drape Pleated
The only one of the three with the shading rate in its spec list: 100%, at 280 gsm, in 10 colours.
Who should skip it: You want natural fibre (100% polyester) or the lowest price. Also skip it if you need a stated flame rating, which the page does not give.
Liz Linen Blackout Pleated
A linen-look panel in 38 colours with a built-in blackout lining at a stated 100%, from $59.99.
Who should skip it: You want a long owner track record. The Curtain Guides data lists only 2 reviews for it (captured 2026-10-09), so check the live page. Also skip it if you want mostly natural fibre: it is 10% linen.
Jawara Luxury Linen Cotton Curtain Pleated
A mostly natural 73% linen, 27% cotton fabric with Blackout linings available at a stated 100%. A page photo shows it in a nursery.
Who should skip it: You want darkness without adding a lining, since the base fabric is unlined. Lining prices were not captured, so check the live page.
Questions people ask
Which of these curtains states a 100% shading rate?
Lila states it in its spec list. Liz Linen Blackout and Jawara show it on a Blackout lining option. Weight alone does not tell you how dark the room will be.
Are pleated curtains cordless?
The product pages do not mention cords, and the panels hang from hooks and rings by hand. Any traverse rod, track or wand you add may have a cord or loop, so check it. CPSC says cordless is the safest choice where young children are present.
Should I use puddle length in a nursery?
TWOPAGES says puddle length helps block light, but we suggest a floor skim around crawlers and new walkers, with a wider panel and a rod mounted high and wide for light gaps.
How do I keep the rod secure?
Fix the brackets into studs or use anchors rated for the load, and check them from time to time. TWOPAGES has a weight calculator for panel weight (hardware not included). This is general home-safety advice.
Where this comes from
- TWOPAGES: Lila 100% Blackout Drape Pleated (captured 2026-10-22)
- TWOPAGES: Liz Linen Blackout Pleated (captured 2026-10-22)
- TWOPAGES: Jawara Luxury Linen Cotton Curtain Pleated (captured 2026-10-22)
- TWOPAGES: Liz Linen Roman Shade Cordless (captured 2026-10-22)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Window Covering Cords (captured 2026-10-22)
- TWOPAGES: Nursery Curtains collection (captured 2026-10-22)
- TWOPAGES: Curtain Liners Guide (captured 2026-10-22)
Product specs were captured from official TWOPAGES product pages and technical guides on 2026-10-22. Specifications and dimensions are subject to manufacturing tolerance.
More curtain guides
-
Measure Before Black Friday: A 10-Minute Window ChecklistMade-to-order curtains only fit if the numbers are right. Here is a ten-minute routine for width, fullness, rod height and length, using TWOPAGES's own measuring rules. -
Velvet Curtains for Holiday Dining and Living RoomsVelvet adds warmth and softens window glare when the table is full and the lights are low. Here is what TWOPAGES states about its Birkin velvet, and where to be careful. -
Pleat and Heading Styles Explained: Pinch Pleat and BeyondThe top of a curtain decides how it hangs, how much room it needs and which rods it fits. A plain-English tour of TWOPAGES's header styles and which products offer them. -
Curtain Fabric Weight in Plain Words: 245, 350 and 500 GSMGSM is a number on every curtain page, but what does it change in your room? A plain guide to weight, fibre, drape, light and warmth, using TWOPAGES's real specs. -
Curtain Guides main studioExplore all 59 real rooms, the vibe check, the 3D hanging simulator and the spec radar.